The First Eden: The Mediterranean World and Man - Netflix

Written on

The First Eden: The Mediterranean World and Man is a four part documentary series written and presented by David Attenborough that was first broadcast on BBC Two in 1987.

Each episode describes man's relationship with the natural habitats of the Mediterranean, and is a glorious portrait of the landscape, wildlife and plants of the Mediterranean. From the earliest human settlements to the cities of today, from the forests of the North African shore and the Middle East to Southern Europe, this series tells the dramatic story of man and nature at work.

The First Eden: The Mediterranean World and Man - Netflix

Type: Documentary

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 50 minutes

Premier: 1987-03-08

The First Eden: The Mediterranean World and Man - Life on Land - Netflix

David Attenborough's Life on Land: A DVD Encyclopaedia is a DVD box set of nature documentaries made by the BBC Natural History Unit. It comprises six series spread across 15 discs, all of them written and presented by David Attenborough, and together forming a comprehensive introduction to the major groups of terrestrial lifeforms. The series were filmed between 1987 and 2008, but are presented in the order in which the groups evolved, beginning with invertebrates and culminating with human beings, to tell the continuous story of the development of life on land. With a total running time exceeding 34 hours, it represents an in-depth visual survey of the living world as it exists today, at the beginning of the 21st century. Each series has been remastered to include an on-screen interactive encyclopaedia, which is indexed to provide easy reference to every species filmed, and to behavioural categories such as tool use, symbiosis and migration. The index is cross-referenced in the small hardback book which is also included in the box set. Here, an alphabetical list of species (by common name) and categories is provided along with the disc, episode and chapter number which contains the related footage. No other bonus features are included. The box set was released on 3 November 2008 in PAL format for DVD Regions 2 and 4. The series are also available individually.

The First Eden: The Mediterranean World and Man - Life in Cold Blood (2008) - Netflix

The third series in the collection features the first groups of backboned animals to leave the water, the amphibians, and their descendants, the reptiles. Discs 5 and 6 reveal how these creatures managed to survive in their new environments, and how the ability to regulate their body temperatures has enabled them to colonise even the hottest and driest deserts.

The First Eden: The Mediterranean World and Man - References - Netflix